List

6 New York Times Bestsellers and What to Read Next

Not sure what to read after The Girl on the Train? From mystery to history to romance, books for every kind of reader.

All the Light We Cannot See, Sophie's Choice

World War II-Era Fiction

In All the Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr, a blind French girl and a German boy’s lives intersect in occupied France. The character Sophie in the classic novel Sophie’s Choice by William Styron is an Auschwitz survivor struggling in the aftermath of World War II.

***

The Girl on the Train, Airport

Suspenseful Commutes

The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins involves a commuter who becomes entangled in a police investigation in a disappearance. In Airport by Arthur Hailey, the crew of a plane must avert disaster when a blizzard endangers thousands of lives. As if traveling wasn’t stressful enough.

***

The Boys in the Boat, The Amateurs

Tales of Olympic Rowing Triumph

The Boys in the Boat by Daniel James Brown chronicles the achievements of the U.S. men’s rowing team at the 1936 Oylmpics in Berlin. The Amateurs by David Halberstam follows the quest of four amateur rowers to represent the U.S. in the 1984 Olympics. Both are excellent reads for lovers of sports memoirs.

***

Outlander, Stronger Than Magic

Time Travel Tomance

In Outlander by Diana Gabaldon, the inspiration for the television series, Claire Randall accidentally time travels from 1945 London to 1743 Scotland. The characters in Stronger Than Magic by Heather Cullman meet in the future—Regency-era England, 1816—for one last chance at falling in love.

***

 

Mademoiselle Chanel, Rocheforts

Novels Inspired by French Fashion

Coco Chanel and her iconic, sleek style star in Mademoiselle Chanel by C. W. Gortner. The Rocheforts by Christian Laborie fictionalizes a different sort of fashion with French origins: the sudden craze for denim.

***

The Nightingale, French Passion

Historical Fiction Set in France

The backdrop to The Nightingale by Kristin Hannah is Nazi-occupied France during WWII, while the French Revolution drives the drama in The French Passion by Jacqueline Briskin.

Related Articles

Tags: