The Long Read: Bestselling Science Fiction Series

These bestselling science fiction series are all complete and now available as ebooks—so you can download the entire series for a nonstop journey.

Don’t you love finding out there’s a sequel to the ebook you’re racing through? The only downside is that sometimes it takes years between the releases. For the titles listed below, you won’t have to wait! These series from bestselling science fiction authors Alan Dean Foster, Timothy Zahn, William Shatner, and David Feintuch are all complete and now available as ebooks—so you can download the entire series for a nonstop journey.

[api method=”orim.titles.getById” title_id=”7592″][book_cover_and_buy_button][/api]

The Icerigger Trilogy by Alan Dean Foster

Stranded on a frozen and remote planet, Ethan Frome Fortune searches for a way back to civilization.

Icy, desolate, and sharply carved by hurricane-force winds, Tran-ky-ky is a terrible place to crash-land. But a botched kidnapping aboard the interstellar transport Antares sends Ethan Frome Fortune and a handful of his fellow travelers tumbling toward the stormy planet. Stranded and cut off from civilization, the castaways struggle to survive. In this page-turning trilogy, Fortune confronts vicious predators (even the plants want to make a meal of him) and forges an alliance with a native Tran. As he searches for a way off Tran-ky-ky, he helps the Tran gain admission to the Humanx Commonwealth and learns about their troubled history. Just as Fortune accepts that he’ll never escape the harsh planet and acclimates to its relentless winter, he learns that scientists have detected rising temperatures in the atmosphere. This sinister change leads Fortune to a thrilling and unexpected final adventure.

[api method=”orim.titles.getById” title_id=”8376″][book_cover_and_buy_button][/api]

TekWar by William Shatner: First of five titles

In this national bestseller, a private detective in twenty-second-century Los Angeles fights to destroy the synthetic high that nearly ruined him.

Not satisfied with the thrills of being one of Greater Los Angeles’ toughest cops, Jake Cardigan turns to Tek, a computerized brain stimulant which transports the user to any reality he can imagine. He’s soon addicted to this fantasy-enabler—and it isn’t long before Cardigan is accused of dealing. When he fails to convince the mechanized jury of his innocence, the state strips his badge and sentences him to fifteen years in suspended animation. Four years later he’s awakened. His sentence has been changed, but no one will tell him why.

Cardigan’s search for answers takes him to Mexico, where a rogue scientist is attempting to rid the world of Tek. But these efforts have roused powerful enemies. Aiding this quest is the right thing to do, but for an ex-con, doing good can be the most dangerous decision of all.

[api method=”orim.titles.getById” title_id=”7879″][book_cover_and_buy_button][/api]

Blackcollar by Timothy Zahn: First of two titles

The blackcollars—an elite, genetically enhanced fighting force—may be humanity’s only hope.

Decades after a successful invasion of Earth and the Terran Democratic Empire by the Ryqril—hostile, leathery-skinned aliens—resistance fighter Allen Caine is training for an undercover mission. He will assume the identity of an aide to the senate—part of the government that colludes with the invaders. But when the mission begins earlier than planned, Caine finds himself stuck on the off-planet outpost of Plinry with no idea of what awaits. He’s responsible for the most important mission undertaken by the resistance in twenty years, and when the operation goes awry, Caine’s only hope is to locate Plinry’s so-called blackcollars—the elusive, martial arts–trained guerilla force whose wartime resistance efforts are legendary. With his life and the freedom of everyone in the TDE on the line, Caine’s success will depend on whether or not he can find them. . . .

[api method=”orim.titles.getById” title_id=”8733″][book_cover_and_buy_button][/api]

Midshipman’s Hope by David Feintuch: First of seven titles

Feintuch’s acclaimed military science fiction series, the Seafort Saga, begins as Nicholas Seafort sets off on an interstellar naval adventure he will never forget.

In the year 2194, seventeen-year-old Nicholas Seafort is assigned to the Hibernia as a lowly midshipman. Destination: the thriving colony of Hope Nation. But when a rescue attempt goes devastatingly wrong, Seafort is thrust into a leadership role he never anticipated. The other officers resent him, but Seafort must handle more dangerous problems, from a corrupted navigation computer to a deadly epidemic. Even Hope Nation has a nasty surprise in store. Seafort might be the crew’s only hope . . .

This page-turning science fiction in the vein of Robert Heinlein and Orson Scott Card—with a dash of Horatio Hornblower—marks the captivating debut adventure in Feintuch’s hugely popular Seafort Saga.

[api method=”orim.titles.getById” title_id=”6720″][book_cover_and_buy_button][/api]

Hail Hibbler by Ron Goulart: First of three titles

Jake and his wife grapple with a harebrained Nazi doctor

Jake Pace is battling a bistro’s worth of robotic mafia goons when the government comes to ask him a favor. The Department of Big Business has a particularly sensitive murder on its hands, and Jake, proprietor of Odd Jobs, Inc., is a sensitive detective. A week ago, Statz Kazee announced to a television audience of 140 million that his next scoop would blow the lid off the international business community. Hours later, he was found shot to death, and every federal policemen sent to investigate the murder has wound up dead.

Now it’s Jake’s problem. After battling malfunctioning skycars, sinking houses, and mysterious cowboys, Jake and his wife learn that Statz had information about the fearsome Adolph Hibbler, the nastiest sinner to ever come out of the Nazi scientific community. Seventy years after the end of the war, Hibbler is back, and he’ll burn America to the ground if Jake can’t handcuff him first.

Related Articles